Skip links

Basics of the IB Diploma Program

The International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma Program is a rigorous and comprehensive pre-university course of study designed to prepare students for success in higher education and beyond. Here are the basics of the IB Diploma Program:

About the IB Diploma Program

The IB diploma program aims at rounded growth of students that helps shape their personality as diverse as physical, emotional, and moral development. On the academic front, it focuses on inter-disciplinary learning that engages the students with complex ideas, needling them to analyze challenges innovatively.

The program has gained recognition from universities across the world, and it prepares students for a winning stint at the university and the life after. Personal and interpersonal development achieved through creativity, activity and service are the excellent traits students cart off to take on the world with grit and might.


  1. The IB Diploma Program typically spans two years, with students typically aged 16 to 19. It consists of six subject groups, including Studies in Language and Literature, Language Acquisition, Individuals and Societies, Sciences, Mathematics, and the Arts or Electives.

Core Components

In addition to the six subject groups, students must complete three core components:

    • Theory of Knowledge (TOK): A course that encourages students to reflect critically on the nature of knowledge and how we acquire it.
    • Extended Essay (EE): An independent research project of 4,000 words in a subject of the student’s choice.
    • Creativity, Activity, Service (CAS): A program that encourages students to engage in creative pursuits, physical activities, and community service.


Assessment in the IB Diploma Program is both internal and external. Internal assessment includes coursework, projects, and oral examinations, while external assessment consists of written examinations administered worldwide in May of each year.


Students are awarded a score out of 45 points based on their performance in the six subject areas and the three core components. The maximum score for each subject is 7, with an additional 3 points available for the combined score of TOK and EE. Students must earn at least 24 points to be awarded the IB Diploma.

International Recognition

  1. The IB Diploma is recognized and respected by universities, colleges, and employers worldwide. It is valued for its rigorous academic standards, emphasis on critical thinking and inquiry, and commitment to international-mindedness.

In summary, the IB Diploma Program offers students a challenging and rewarding educational experience that prepares them for success in an increasingly interconnected and globalized world. It emphasizes academic rigor, critical thinking, and international-mindedness, while also promoting personal and social development.

IB diploma online tuition provides students with personalized support tailored to their individual learning styles and needs, ensuring a comprehensive understanding of the rigorous IB curriculum. Accessible from anywhere with an internet connection, it offers flexibility in scheduling, accommodating students’ busy lifestyles. Expert tutors deliver engaging lessons through interactive platforms, fostering deeper engagement and comprehension. Regular feedback and assessments aid in tracking progress and addressing areas requiring improvement promptly. Overall, IB diploma online tuition offers a dynamic and effective learning experience, preparing students for success in their IB examinations and beyond.

This website uses cookies to improve your web experience.