Skip links

What is IGCSE all about?

The International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) is the most popular educational qualification all over the world. Developed in 1988 by Cambridge International Examinations, it has won recognition as an excellent international alternative to several well-accepted national curricula.

IGCSE Board at a glance

The International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) is a globally recognized qualification for secondary school students, typically taken at the ages of 14 to 16. Developed by Cambridge Assessment International Education, IGCSE is designed to provide students with a broad and balanced curriculum that prepares them for further academic study, employment, and life in a global society.

The Curriculum

IGCSE offers a wide range of subjects spanning various disciplines, including Mathematics, Sciences (Physics, Chemistry, Biology), Humanities (History, Geography), Languages (English, Foreign Languages), Business Studies, and more. This diverse curriculum allows students to tailor their education to their interests, strengths, and future career aspirations.


IGCSE follows a two-year course of study, with assessments typically taken at the end of the program. Students have the flexibility to choose the subjects they want to study, allowing for a personalized learning experience. The assessments can include written exams, practical assessments, oral tests, and coursework, depending on the subject.


One of the key benefits of IGCSE is its global recognition. Universities, colleges, and employers around the world acknowledge the value of the IGCSE qualification, making it a valuable asset for students seeking higher education or employment opportunities internationally.

Skills Development

IGCSE is not just about academic knowledge; it also focuses on the development of essential skills such as critical thinking, problem-solving, communication, and independent learning. These skills are vital for success in higher education, the workplace, and everyday life.


IGCSE offers flexibility in terms of subject choice, allowing students to explore their interests and strengths. This flexibility enables students to pursue a well-rounded education while focusing on subjects that align with their career goals.


In essence, IGCSE is about providing students with a high-quality, internationally recognized education that prepares them for the challenges of the future. Through its diverse curriculum, focus on skills development, and global recognition, IGCSE equips students with the knowledge, skills, and confidence to succeed in an increasingly interconnected world.

IGCSE online tuition offers flexibility, allowing students to learn at their own pace and schedule. It provides access to a wide range of resources and expertise regardless of geographical location. Online platforms often incorporate interactive tools, enhancing engagement and understanding. Students can receive personalized attention and support from experienced tutors, addressing individual learning needs effectively. Overall, IGCSE online tuition offers convenience, customization, and quality education tailored to the student’s requirements.

This website uses cookies to improve your web experience.